[Donor Management System] Deleting and Restoring Contacts

Considerations


How to delete Contacts

Deleting a single Contact

1. Go to the Contacts Tab

2. Search for the Contact you wish to delete and select its name

3. Under Summary, scroll down to the bottom of the page and you will see a Delete Contact button.


Deleting multiple Contacts at once

1. Go to the Contacts Tab

2. Search for a specific Contact or select either:

  • (1) The specific Contacts you wish to delete,
  • (2) Every listed Contact on the page, or
  • (3) All Contacts in your DMS

3. Select the Actions menu at the upper-left side of the Contact list

4. Either type “delete” in the Actions search bar or scroll the list to find the Delete contacts option

5. On the next page, select Delete Contact(s). You will also be able to view the selected Contacts by selecting View Selected Contacts before deletion.


Deleting a Contact permanently

Once you have deleted a single Contact, you can also delete them permanently.

Note: If you delete a Contact permanently, you will not be able to retrieve them.


From a Contact Profile

1. Follow the steps above to delete a single Contact

2. Once deleted, on the deleted Contact’s Contact Profile, scroll down and select Delete Permanently.

3. The system will prompt you to confirm that you wish to delete your single Contact permanently


From the Contacts Tab

If you have navigated away from the deleted Contact’s Contact Profile after deleting them:

1. Go to the Contacts Tab

2. On the top right corner of the screen, select Advanced Search

3. On the top left corner of the screen, select Edit Search Criteria to expand the search filters

4. Under Display Settings, check the box Search in trash (deleted contacts)

5. Perform your search criteria and select Search on the right

6. Scroll down and select your single Contact’s name

7. Once on their Contact Profile, scroll down and select Delete Permanently


How to Restore Contacts

Restore a single Contact

1. Go to the Contacts Tab

2. On the top right corner of the screen, select Advanced Search

3. On the top left corner of the screen, select Edit Search Criteria to expand the search filters

4. Under Display Settings, check the box Search in trash (deleted contacts)

5. Under Contacts, type the name of the deleted Contact and select Search on the right

6. Select the name of the Contact you wish to restore

7. Under Summary, scroll down to the bottom of the page and you will see a Restore From Trash button.


Restore multiple Contacts at once

1. Go to the Contacts Tab

2. On the top right corner of the screen, select Advanced Search

3. On the top left corner of the screen, select Edit Search Criteria to expand the search filters

4. Under Display Settings, check the box Search in trash (deleted contacts)

5. Perform your search criteria and select Search on the right

6. Select some or all Contacts, select Actions and then Restore contacts from trash

7. On the next page, select Restore Contact(s). You will also be able to view the selected Contacts by selecting View Selected Contacts before restoration.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles